PAINtalks 2020 – Review of the event

The 5rd edition of PAINtalks of the Quebec Network of Student-Researchers on Pain (RQECD) took place on November 13, 2020 at the Granada Theater in Sherbrooke via webcast in order to respond to the pandemic context and to respect government recommendations.

The event was a success! More than 1 people from all over the world registered for the PAINtalks 2020. Nearly 4 listeners followed the event live. We are very grateful to have received registrations from North America, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, Oceania and even Africa in addition to having had such a large audience.

For those who do not know the event, the PAINtalks is an evening of popularized talks on the theme of pain. It is a bilingual initiative, free and open to all, which is inspired by the TED presentation format. Speakers are invited to submit their candidacy to present at the evening in order to communicate their research.

On November 13, we had the opportunity to welcome thirteen speakers, five of whom were student-members in our RQECD network, a patient-partner living with chronic pain, a special speaker from the Canadian Pain Society (CPS ), a presenter from the North American Pain School (NAPS) and two other special participants for the first time. In addition, we have invited three renowned speakers and researchers in their respective fields: Pre Gabrielle Pagé, Pre Sylvie Lafrenaye and Pr Serge Marchand.

For the 2020 edition, we had the honor of welcoming the Quebec performer, Guylaine Tanguay, as Master of Ceremonies! With 15 albums and more than 30 years of career, Guylaine Tanguay is one of the biggest names in the country music industry in Quebec. Not only for her remarkable talent, having been diagnosed with fibromyalgia a few years ago, Guylaine Tanguay was the queen of the evening. She knew how to charm the public and liven up the evening brilliantly!

For our 5th edition, we were supported by the Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR) through the Planning and Dissemination Grants – Institute Community Support Program. Also, we had the support of the Fonds de Recherche du Québec (FRQ) with the DIALOGUE – Relève étudiante grant.

 

We owe our graphic content to the talented Steve Bergeron and the talented Sophie Thevenard. As graphic designer/animator and owner of Studio Steve Bergeron, Mr. Bergeron was responsible for the graphics of our promotional videos, the visuals of the programming, as well as the graphics of our presentation slides. For her part, Sophie Thévenard was our graphic designer for our promotional pamphlets.

In order to ensure the comprehension of the largest possible audience, we had a simultaneous translation service during the conferences. Keleny is the Montreal translation team that provided the live service. Furthermore, it should be noted that it is thanks to Kostar Audiovisual that we were able to offer the 5th edition of our event via webcast.

New in 2020!

Our team has grown! We have set up our own committee PAINtalks. It has seven new members, all student members of the RQECD. You can consult our committee PAINtalks 2020 in the Committee tab PAINtalks 2020. Our committee works in collaboration with the members of the RQECD board of directors for planning and organization.

 

The benefits of presentation PAINtalks 2020

All speakers receive individual training given by Denis François Gravel from PRESENTability. An experienced public speaking coach and trainer, Denis François Gravel is also the president and co-founder of TEDxQuébecé. To ensure an efficient transfer of knowledge from academia to the general public, all conferences were filmed in high definition (HD). Our videos were filmed and edited by the team Vimetri, a Quebec video production company.

Winner 2020

Marie-Philippe Harvey – PhD student

As every year, eligible RQECD student-members had a chance to win the “Best Presentation” prize. This year, we congratulate Marie-Philippe Harvey who is the winner of the PAINtalks 2020 edition and who gets a place in the next edition of fame European Pain School (EPS) from the University of Siena!

Videos

Photos

Our PLATINUM partner

DIAMOND Partners

You could excel in presentation context, convey your message effectively and persuade your audiences. At PRESENTabilité, we support you in the acquisition of best practices and in the development of your skills in order to raise your presentations to a higher level. | Training | Conference | Coaching.

GOLD Partners

Our KNOWLEDGE brings HOPE
The CHUS Research Center stands out for its integrated approach in fundamental, clinical, epidemiological and evaluative research.

More than 900 people participate every day in the advancement of health sciences. We continue to provide innovative science and technology leadership regionally, nationally and internationally.

Mission
The Center de recherche du Center hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke (CRCHUS) exercises leadership in the genesis and transfer of knowledge aimed at improving health. To this end, it promotes the excellence of its researchers based on its strengths and its environment. It offers a collaborative environment conducive to creativity and partnerships. The research activities it supports contribute to the realization of innovative health care and services.

Vision
excellence | Audacity | Creativity
The CRCHUS is a world-class research, innovation and knowledge transfer environment, dynamically integrated into its clinical and university environment, whose collective achievements translate into real impacts for the improvement of health.

Pfizer Canada ULC is the Canadian subsidiary of Pfizer Ins., one of the world's leading biopharmaceutical companies. Our diverse line of healthcare products includes some of the best known and most prescribed medicines and vaccines in the world. At Pfizer, our colleagues work to make Breakthroughs that change the lives of patients (MC). To learn more about Pfizer Canada, visit pfizer.ca or follow us on LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter or Youtube.

SILVER Partners

BRONZE Partners

EN FR

PAINtalks 2020 – Retour sur l’événement

La 5e édition du PAINtalks du Réseau Québécois des Étudiants-Chercheurs sur la Douleur (RQECD) s’est déroulée lors du 13 novembre 2020 au théâtre Granada à Sherbrooke en webdiffusion afin de répondre au contexte pandémique et de respecter les recommandations gouvernementales.

L’évènement a été un succès! Plus de 1 200 personnes venant des quatre coins du monde se sont inscrites au PAINtalks 2020. Près de 4 000 auditeurs ont suivi l’évènement en direct. Nous sommes très reconnaissants d’avoir reçu des inscriptions venant de l’Amérique du Nord, de l’Amérique centrale, de l’Amérique du Sud, de l’Europe, de l’Asie, de l’Océanie et même de l’Afrique en plus d’avoir eu un aussi grand auditoire.

Pour ceux et celles qui ne connaissent pas l’évènement, le PAINtalks est une soirée de conférences vulgarisées portant sur la thématique de la douleur. C’est une initiative bilingue, gratuite et ouverte à tous, qui est inspirée par la formule de présentation TED. Des conférenciers sont invités à soumettre leur candidature pour présenter à la soirée afin de communiquer leurs recherches.

Le 13 novembre dernier, nous avons eu l’opportunité d’accueillir treize conférenciers dont cinq étant étudiants-membres dans notre réseau RQECD, une patiente-partenaire vivant avec de la douleur chronique, une conférencière spéciale de la Société Canadienne de la Douleur (CPS), une présentatrice de l’École Nord-Américaine de la Douleur (NAPS) et ainsi que deux autres participants spéciaux, et ce pour la première fois. De plus, nous avons invité trois conférenciers et chercheurs réputés dans leur domaine respectif soit Pre Gabrielle Pagé, Pre Sylvie Lafrenaye et Pr Serge Marchand.

Pour l’édition 2020, nous avons eu l’honneur de recevoir l’interprète québécoise, Guylaine Tanguay, comme Maitre de cérémonie! Avec 15 albums et plus de 30 années de carrière, Guylaine Tanguay est l’un des plus grands noms de l’industrie musicale country au Québec. Non seulement pour son talent remarquable, ayant reçu un diagnostic de fibromyalgie il y a quelques années, Guylaine Tanguay était la reine de la soirée. Elle a su charmer le public et animer la soirée avec brio !

Pour notre 5e édition, nous avons été supportés par l’Institut de Recherche en Santé du Canada (IRSC) grâce aux subventions de planification et de dissémination – Programme d’appui communautaire des instituts. Aussi, nous avons eu le support des Fonds de Recherche du Québec (FRQ) avec la subvention DIALOGUE – Relève étudiante.

 

Nous devons notre contenu graphique au talentueux Steve Bergeron et à la talentueuse Sophie Thévenard. En tant que graphiste/animateur et propriétaire du Studio Steve Bergeron, M. Bergeron était responsable du graphisme de nos vidéos promotionnelles, du visuel de la programmation, ainsi que du graphisme de nos diapositives de présentation. Pour sa part, Sophie Thévenard a été notre graphiste pour nos pamphlets promotionnels.

Afin d’assurer la compréhension du plus grand public possible, nous avions un service de traduction simultanée pendant les conférences. Keleny est l’équipe de traduction montréalaise qui a assuré le service en direct. Par ailleurs, il est à noter que c’est grâce à Kostar Audiovisuel que nous avons pu offrir la 5e édition de notre évènement en webdiffusion.

Nouveautés 2020!

Notre équipe s’est agrandie! Nous avons mis sur pied notre propre comité PAINtalks. Il compte sept nouveaux membres, tous des étudiants-membres du RQECD. Vous pouvez consulter notre comité PAINtalks 2020 dans l’onglet Comité PAINtalks 2020. Notre comité travaille en collaboration avec les membres du conseil d’administration du RQECD pour la planification et l’organisation.

 

Les avantages de présentation au PAINtalks 2020

Tous les conférenciers reçoivent une formation individuelle donnée par Denis François Gravel de chez PRESENTabilité. Entraineur et formateur expérimenté en prise de parole, Denis François Gravel est aussi le président et le co-fondateur de TEDxQuébecé. Afin d’assurer un transfert des connaissances efficient du milieu académique vers le grand public, toutes les conférences ont été filmées en haute définition (HD). Nos vidéos ont été filmées et montées par l’équipe Vimetri, une société de production vidéo québécoise.

Gagnante 2020

Marie Philippe Harvey – Étudiante au Doctorat

Comme à chaque année, les étudiants-membres du RQECD éligibles couraient la chance de gagner le prix de la « Meilleure Présentation ». Cette année, nous félicitons Marie-Philippe Harvey qui est la lauréate de l’édition PAINtalks 2020 et qui obtient une place à la prochaine édition de la renommée European Pain School (EPS) de l’Université de Sienne!

Videos

Photos

Notre partenaire PLATINE

Partenaires DIAMANT

Vous pourriez exceller en contexte de présentation, transmettre votre message efficacement et persuader vos auditoires. Chez PRÉSENTabilité, nous vous accompagnons dans l’acquisition de meilleures pratiques et dans le développement de vos habiletés afin d’élever vos présentations à un niveau supérieur. | Formation | Conférence | Coaching.

Partenaires OR

Notre SAVOIR est porteur d’ESPOIR
Le Centre de recherche du CHUS se démarque par son approche intégrée en recherche fondamentale, clinique, épidémiologique et évaluative.

Plus de 900 personnes participent tous les jours à l’avancement des sciences de la santé. Nous continuons d’assurer un leadership scientifique et technologique novateur au plan régional, national et international.

Mission
Le Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke (CRCHUS) exerce un leadership dans la genèse et le transfert de connaissances qui visent à améliorer la santé. À cette fin, il favorise l’excellence de ses chercheurs en partant de ses forces et de son milieu. Il offre un environnement collaboratif propice à la créativité et aux partenariats. Les activités de recherche qu’il soutient contribuent à la réalisation de soins et services de santé innovants.

Vision
Excellence | Audace | Créativité
Le CRCHUS est un milieu de recherche, d’innovation et de transfert des connaissances de calibre mondial, intégré de façon dynamique dans son environnement clinique et universitaire, dont les réalisations collectives se traduisent en impacts réels pour l’amélioration de la santé.

Pfizer Canada SRI est la filiale canadienne de Pfizer Ins., l’une des principales entreprises biopharmaceutiques à l’echelle mondiale. Notre gamme diversifiée de produits de soins de santé comprend des mecicaments et des vaccins figurant parmis les plus connus et les plus prescrits dans le monde. Chez Pfizer, nos collègues travaillent dans le but de faire Des percées qui changent la vie des patients (MC). Pour en savoir plus sur Pfizer Canada, visitez le site pfizer.ca ou suiviez-nous sur LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter ou Youtube.

Partenaires ARGENT

Partenaires BRONZE